The Northwest Florida Daily News reports that there was a deadly hit and run accident early Sunday morning on April 17, 2016, that is being investigated by the Florida Highway Patrol. The accident occurred on U.S. 98 at the Hathaway Bridge that left one person dead and another in jail.
The FHP News release states a 30 year old male from Lynn Haven was traveling east on a TaoTao Scooter across the Hathaway Bridge about 4 a.m. Sunday when a 2008 Hyundai Accent driven a 53 male from Pensacola, collided with him from the rear. The Hyundai continued east, leaving the scene, the release said, and witnesses reported that two other vehicles may have collided with the driver of the scooter after the initial impact.
According to FHP, the driver of the scooter was killed in the collision. The report added that driver of the Hyundai – who was apprehended later Sunday and taken to the Bay County Jail – has been charged with DUI manslaughter, leaving the scene of traffic crash involving death and driving with a suspended driver’s license causing a death.
The wreck remains under investigation.
Our thoughts and prayers are with the family of the male who died in this preventable and tragic accident.
Here are a few facts about hit and runs in Florida
In 2015, there were more than 92,000 hit and run crashes in Florida.
Of those, the Florida Highway Patrol worked more than 23,000.
Each year the percent of hit and run crashes stays steady, which means the problem of people fleeing the scene isn’t getting better.
There were more than 19,000 injuries resulting from hit and run crashes, with over 1,200 of those involving serious bodily injury.
Vulnerable road users are particularly at risk. In fact, there were 186 hit and run fatalities in 2015, over half of which were pedestrians.
Approximately one out of every four pedestrian crashes resulted in the driver leaving the scene.
Under Florida law, a driver MUST stop immediately at the scene of a crash on public or private property which results in injury or death.
More than 80 percent of hit and run crashes result in property damage only.
If a driver flees the scene, the situation becomes even worse. Leaving the scene of a crash is a felony and a driver, when convicted, will have their license revoked for at least three years and can be sentenced to a mandatory minimum of four years in prison.
In 2015, 18-27 year olds received over a third of all hit and run citations issued, 70 percent of which were written for males.
The most important thing a driver can do when they are involved in a crash is to remain at the scene and call for help. Staying at the scene will not only spare a driver significant legal penalties, but may save a life.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles encourages drivers to keep their eyes on the road, hands on the wheel and mind on driving.
If you or a loved one has been injured in an hit and run accident, contact us at Brannon and Brannon (850)659-2252 for a free consultation or contact us through our live website www.brannoncanhelp.com