${site.data.firmName}${SEMFirmNameAlt}
Call For A Free Consultation With Local Attorneys
850-659-2252

Florida Insurance Requirements

This past Thursday, there was a tragic accident that occurred right in the heart of Destin. A Niceville man was heading north on Danny Wuerffel Way around 8 p.m. on a 1985 Harley-Davidson when a 2007 Expedition, driven by a man from Arkansas turned left in front of him. The significance of the impact killed the driver, and his 17-year-old passenger was reported to be in serious condition at Fort Walton Beach Medical Center. Unfortunately, the Niceville man was not wearing a helmet. The Expedition sustained $6,000 worth of damage in the crash, according to the FHP media release, and the Harley-Davidson sustained $10,000 in damages. FHP is investigating the crash.

Our thoughts and prayers go out with the family of the deceased and we hope for a speedy recovery of the injured passenger.

I have several questions after reading this article.

What type of insurance is required to purchase and maintain a Florida license plate and registration?

Florida's minimum coverage is $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) as long as you have a valid Florida license plate.

What is "Personal Injury Protection" (PIP) insurance?

Also called Florida No Fault Insurance, Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Insurance covers you - regardless of fault up to the limits of your policy. Your PIP will also cover your child, members of your household, certain passengers who lack PIP Insurance as long as they do not own a vehicle. People riding in your vehicle who carry PIP will receive coverage under their own PIP for their injuries, and certain licensed drivers who drive your vehicle with your permission. PIP also covers your child if he or she suffers an injury while riding on a school bus. PIP coverage protects you while in someone else's vehicle, as a pedestrian, or bicyclist if you suffer an injury in a crash involving a motor vehicle. The Florida Motor Vehicle No-Fault Law, requires all owner/registrants of a motor vehicle with four wheels or more to carry a minimum of $10,000 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 of property damage liability (PDL) if you own a motor vehicle in Florida. Florida law requires you to maintain PIP/PDL insurance continuously throughout the licensing and registration period.

Are motorcycles required to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP)/No Fault Insurance?

Florida no fault insurance is a system that involves each insurance company paying for the damage incurred by its customer regardless of who is at fault. This system does not necessarily apply to motorcycles. Motorcyclists are not required to purchase insurance unless they are under the age of 21 and do not wear a helmet. This does not necessarily mean that these individuals should not purchase insurance. Most experts recommend that motorcyclists in Florida purchase uninsured motorist insurance and property damage liability coverage. This way, the motorcyclist will be covered if he or she is in an accident and causes damage to another individual's property.


Do the Florida no fault insurance laws apply to out of state residents who get in accidents?

The Florida no fault insurance law does not apply to just in-state residents. Since it is a popular tourist destination, many out-of-state individuals could get involved in accidents while they are visiting. According to the rules, individuals who do not live in Florida for more than 90 days out of the year are not required to purchase Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance, which is required under Florida laws. If a tourist is involved in an accident, the same no fault insurance rules will apply, and both insurance companies will pay.

So what should you take away from this? If you have an accident in a state that requires a coverage for out-of-state drivers that your home state doesn't offer, like personal injury protection (PIP),most all insurance carriers will provide you with that coverage just for the isolated incident and it won't be permanently added to your policy.


Source:http://www.finweb.com/insurance/how-does-floridas-no-fault-insurance-work.html#ixzz3pcQ1BHIU

 

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Father And Son Team Working Together To Serve Our Clients

Our legal team consists of attorney Wm. Dennis Brannon and his son C. Paul Brannon. We work together as a father and son team to provide our clients with exceptional service and solutions in motor vehicle accident claims and other personal injury matters.

Contact Us Today
Email Us For A Response

We Handle Cases on a Contingency Fee Basis Tell Us About Your Case - Free Consultations

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Fort Walton Beach
975 Mar Walt Drive
Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547

Phone: 850-659-2252
Fax: 850-864-4526
Fort Walton Beach Law Office Map

Defuniak
544 US Highway 90 East
Defuniak Springs, FL 32433

Phone: 850-659-2252
Fax: 850-864-4526
Map & Directions

Crestview
204 North Main Street
Crestview, FL 32536

Phone: 850-659-2252
Phone: 850-398-8776
Fax: 850-864-4526
Crestview Law Office Map